Solo Gaming……………

Posted: June 27, 2016 in Deadzone, Dungeon Saga, Mars Attacks, Shadows Of Brimstone, Zombicide

Its fair to say over the last few years I have drifted away from large scale (mass battles) wargames and moved on to small (skirmish) games. This all come about from my change of life style two years ago, leading me to have a lot more free time on my hands. It has also lead me into solo gaming, with the likes of Zombicide, Incursion, and a few others.

However I have always had an “itch” to get back into “dungeon crawl” type games, granted a few years ago I did start playing Warhammer Quest which has to be one of my favorite games. However it was short lived. I could have picked up GW’s new Warhammer Quest – Silver Towers game, however I have my doubts that it would live up to its predecessor!

One of the main reasons that I backed Mantic Games Deadzone v1 was for the solo play, however I could never get my head round the rules. And so for the best part it ended up being shelved. However with the DZ v2 kickstarter last year I had high hopes, but however the solo rules (or AI deck as it was known) are gone. Maybe they will return in a future supplement, who knows.

Zombicide by CMON, can also be played solo. And I have played many games on my own (quite a few when I was laid up in hospital) However the original seasons 1-3 were set in the modern day, while the new Black Plague is set in medieval times and while not relay a “dungeon crawl” it would at a push, pass for one  (especially some of the bigger monsters). CMON have just launched a new KS project called “Massive Darkness” however it is not going to be ready to ship until April 2017, and as much as I like most of the models  I think I will have to pass it by.

However I still have this “itch” for a good old fashioned “dungeon crawl” featuring orcs and goblins, skeletons, and all the rest. This does however lead on to Mantic`s Dungeon Saga. Now first off, I passed on the Kickstarter. At the time I had no interested in the project, and as with a few of their projects there were a fair few problems. However most of them seem to have been sorted out now. I have how ever manged to get hold of a KS backers pledge for a very good price.

Now I just have to wait for it to arrive………

Leave a Reply

