Deadzone: Infestation Pt 3

Posted: May 23, 2016 in Deadzone, Kickstarters

So its time for the final part of my deadzone Infestation “un-boxing”. Now as any one who read part 2 of this review will know that I had both the Veer-Myn, and Asterian boosters missing from the box. With that I posted a support ticket with mantic, filled out all the missing bits and sent it. A few days later I received a reply acknowledging my “ticket”, and that a number of items were out of stock and it would be sent as soon as the items arrived. Then last week I received an email saying it had been dispatched and the ticket was closed.

And then on Saturday it arrived.

First up the Veer-Myn from top left: Brood Mother, Night Terror, Chem-thrower, Progenitor (renamed Nightmare in the rule book) and old restic nightmares. All of them are made from the “new” plastic with the exception of the old nightmares. Out of them all the only model that I am not keen on is the Chem-thrower(I just don`t like the design). The details however are excellent.

Finally we have the Asterians. On the left are the Kalyshi and on the right are the drones. Now the Kalyshi were one of the sets of models I was looking forward to. And to be honest they are lovely models, but they are let down by being made in metal. As the weapons are very fine and the metal is very very soft, it can lead to them being bent (or snapped off). The 2nd one on the bottom row, had its weapon bent back on it self. The drones are the same as what were supplied with first DZ campaign, however I think one of the options was originally made in metal. But I could be wrong.

Now I have had plenty of time to read through the “new” DZ rule book, and I have to say it is a lot more clearer to read than its predecessor. I did try on many occasions to read the rules for the original DZ , but don`t ask me why I just could not get my head round it! However the V2 book seems to make a lot more sense to me. My only problem is the lack of “solo” rules (which were one of the reasons I backed DZ V1).

Hopefully I will be able to get to play the game properly this time round!

Comments

Leave a Reply

