The Greatest (Wargames) Show In The UK………….

Posted: April 19, 2016 in Imperial Guard, Orks

And so the biggest wargames show (in the UK) has been and gone.

Did I go this year? Nope, Making it the 2nd year in a row that I have not been. As with last year I had seen nothing advertised that grabbed my attention. Instead I spent most of Saturday (and a bit of Sunday) working on a small force of Orks for 40K.  The orks all came about after a conversation in my  local store about painting yellow!

Now I only went in to buy a box of Ogryns for my Imperial Guard, but In the window they had a very nice Horus Heresy Imperial fists army. Now yellow has always been one of the colours that I hate painting, as it has a very weak pigment to it. Don`t get me wrong I have used yellow before, by using a cream colour (I used the old bleached bone from GW) and then layering on thin coats (1 or 2) of the chosen colour. When GW released the foundation paints (base paints under the new set) one of the colours was a yellow, however it is a darker shade and I have found it needs quite a few coats to get it to a “bright” yellow.

Now I had to ask the question of how did they get that colour? and I was surprised to find out that it was from a spray can of daemonic yellow from the army painter. Now I have always liked the orks and over the years I have had about 3 armies of green skins and they have all been either Goffs or Evil sunz with the other clanz mixed in except the Bad Moons! Now I picked up 2 cans of Daemonic yellow some years back, and when I returned home I had a look for any painting guides for Bad Moon orks. I found a few but the one that caught my eye was this one over on Dakka Dakka

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/374651.page

Having put together some models Grukk face-rippa and 5 Nobz, I under-coated them up

I used Biel-tan Green (2 or 3 coats) shade for the skin, and Seraphim Sepia for the yellow areas. Now normally I would pick the darkest green I have and then highlight it up however this is a new approach for me. I have cleaned up and assemabled 12 Ork boyz, 10 Grotz and a Runtherder. As well as digging out a Deff Dread, a Mek Gun, Mekboy and a Painboy!

Back to the Ogryns I am using them as “test” pieces for my Cadian Imperial Guard (I stripped most of them last year)

DSCN0918I`ve gone with a base of Mechanicus Standard Grey spray as a base with the trousers given a (thined) Nuln Oil wash and then highlighted with Dawnstone, and Administratum Grey. The flesh was based with Bugmans glow and shaded with Reikland Flesh. Then highlighted with Cadian and Kislev Flesh.

Leave a Reply

