Welcome To The Jungle………………

Posted: March 31, 2016 in Catachan, terrain

When I first started gaming all those years ago, my terrain collection consisted of  books for hills, boxes for buildings, coloured paper for rivers, etc.

However as time passed I began to make a lot of terrain from scratch, my first attempts were some bases of trees made from an old artificial Christmas tree and some thick card. I soon progressed on from their with ruined buildings made from thick card and hills from polystyrene. All made with the help of the various articles in White Dwarf, it was when the Catachan Jungle Fighters were released that I had a terrain”spurt” and went mad making jungle terrain. By the time the 3rd edition Catachan codex was released most of my terrain had seen better days, and with a heavy heart all of it was binned.

I always wanted to revisit the jungle but with the advent of the Cities Of Death terrain in 2006 (wow they are 10 years old now) and the various plastic kits that have followed over the years, scratch built terrain is not seen that often with 40k any more.

However with the discovery of my Jungle Fighters its made me want to make some “jungle” terrain. A quick look at the internet has brought up some good terrain articles, and a look through my old White Dwarf magazines has also yielded some good articles.

With that,

I have dug out some “off” cuts of 4mm birch faced ply that I had laying around.

Ordered up £25.00 worth of artificial plants from ebay.

Sorted out all of my basing materials (grass tufts, dried herbs, etc.)

Sorted out all the plastic aquarium plants that I don`t use any more.

While doing this I came across 3 sets of the GW wood set that was released a few years ago, and a set of the GW plastic jungle plants that were released ages ago.

Now all I need is for the weather to pick up so I can cut the Birch faced ply bases!

Leave a Reply

