What You Call Hell, They Call Home…………

Posted: March 29, 2016 in Catachan, Imperial Guard

It all started way back in December 1994, I was given for Christmas a box of Catachan Jungle Fighters.

And It would be the start of my 2nd edition 40k Imperial Guard army. Over the next few years I would shift between these and my orks, and with the advent of  3rd edition both forces grew in size due to a large number of GW mail order “army deals”.

However over the years both armies have disappeared,  I still have an Ork dreadnought conversion that needs some TLC but the rest had gone.

Until the other day!

While sorting through some boxes of models, I came across a box that contained 4 of the (very) old figure cases from the late 90`s. Now to be fair I have known about the cases since me and my partner got the last of my stuff from storage the other year, but as the box they were in weighed next to nothing I never looked in side.

Something told me to check inside them and to my surprise inside one of them were my Jungle Fighters. Now as I said I have not seen these models for years and in all fairness they must have been boxed up since 2002/03.

DSCN0887I did however decide to paint up a squad to see how they compared with the old scheme (above) I had done some 20 years ago.

While I was sorting out a squad I remembered that I had “Sly” Marbo from the 3rd edition codex in one of my Bitz boxes so I dug him out as well. However when I sorted out the models for the pictures I found that I had already painted him all those years ago!

I have to say that I have really enjoyed painting these guys up considering that it was over 20 years ago that I first tackled them, and I am looking forward to painting up a few more.

 

Comments
  1. Hehe excellent mate. These were my first models too.

  2. Pete S/ SP says:

    Great find- can’t beat a bit of gaming nostalgia.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

Leave a Reply

