The Cult Arises…………………..

Posted: March 10, 2016 in Genestealer Cult

Since my last post I have been working on the Genestealer models from the Deathwatch: Overkill set. Having assembled all the models their are a number of points that maybe useful to others.

Firstly, the instructions for the Magus and Primus say that the model is based on a 25mm base, this wrong and should be a 32mm base. As I found out when I assembled my 3rd/4th gen hybrids.

The Magus dagger/sword goes BEHIND the staff and not in front.

The upper torso’s of the aberrants fit both bodies, giving you 4 different poses.

If you remove the “peg” from the arms and heads you can pose them as you wish.

Having assembled all 39 models I decided to start painting, now I have to admit way back in the early 90’s when I purchased Space Hulk I did develop a hatred for painting Genestealers (and hybrids). Now I must confess that having pick up a few genestealers over the years, I have not painted one since the 90’s!

And so with this in mind I used the painting guide in WD weekly 110 (which is a close match for the one on the old Space Hulk box) and started with the Patriarch and the two Purestrain Genestealers included in the box. Now I have to say I have enjoyed painting the Patriarch and Pure strains that it pushed me on to start on the Magus, Primus, 2 aberrants 6 1st/2nd gen hybrids, 7 3rd/4th gen hybrids and 1 hybrid with mining laser. Of which I have painted the Skin and stealer arms.

I was in the middle of taking some pictures but alas the battery died!………………………….

 

Comments
  1. I look forward to seeing them painted mate

Leave a Reply

