To Re-base, Or Not To Re-base…………..

Posted: February 21, 2016 in Blood angels, Chaos, space marine, Space Wolves

That is the question. When I started redoing my Space Wolves I decided that they needed to be based on the newer 32mm bases rather than the old 25mm bases. You can pick up the 32mm ones from GW mail order  (10 for £3.00 or 100 for £27.00)  I picked mine up from eBay for about £6.00 (for 20) from eBay. Now as I was just starting on the Space Wolves I had no problems with removing the old bases, however it got me thinking about my Blood Angels (as well as my Black Templars and Iron Warriors).

I personally think that the 32mm bases make Space Marines more imposing, however the thought of re-basing nearly 100 models is quite off putting!

However their are a 3 options.

Option 1: Leave them on 25mm bases!

Option 2: Buy 32mm bases and rebase the lot!

Option 3: Pick up some base adapters.

Now as I said I options 1 and 2 were a no go, however option 3 needed looking into. After searching the internet I came across a number of companies selling 25-32mm adapters made from MDF, Resin, and Plastic. However they were all located in the USA and shipping would have cost an arm and a leg, by the time you add on import duty to the UK! I did however find one UK company that stocked them unfortunately they were out of stock. So I waited and when they had them back in stock and ordered up 100 of them.

DSCN0818

As you can see from the above picture the adapters come in two pieces which fit snugly around the 25mm base. All they need is a small amount of glue and some filler over the joins.

DSCN0821

As you can see the models feet no longer hang over the edge of the base, and all that is needed is some sand a paint to finish them off.

Each adepter cost 25p so not only do they work out cheaper than buying new bases, you also only need to texture the top edge.

The Adapters can be bought from here.

https://www.bitzbox.co.uk/product_info.php/tabletop-adapters-25mm-to-32mm-adapter-p-6052

Leave a Reply

