Chill Out, Dickwad……………………………………………….

Posted: October 30, 2015 in Aliens, Terminator

It seems hard for me to believe that it is nearly 25 years ago that I came across the Alien, Predator, and Terminator films. These 3 franchises inspired me to get in to miniature wargaming (more so the post apocalyptic future in the Terminator), and over the years I have wanted to be able to have models of Aliens, Predators, and Terminators.

Now their was a company back in the 90`s that made metal models of Aliens and Terminators, as well as rules for a wargame/board game and an RPG. However they were not very easy to find in the UK and when they did show up they often had a hefty price tag! Their were however a number of “proxy” models around that could be used (some of which are still available now) Games Workshop even had Tyranid Genestealers (Aliens) and Lictors (Predator) as well as the Necrons (Terminators).

Fast forward to 2013 and rumours hit of an Alien vs Predator (AvP) range, around the same time were rumours of another Terminator Film. AvP was a must for me and when it hit kickstarter at midnight I backed it straight away (being one of the first 100 backers). From the renders that were shown, these were the models I had been waiting for! The project has had its ups and downs, and a number of backers have vented their anger over why it has taken so long to get to the stage it is at. But I am content sitting back waiting to get the rest of my pledge (so much so that I have added another £105.00 to the pledge manger)

At the beginning of the year (2015) rumours started going round of a Terminator wargame based on the then upcoming film Terminator: Genisys. Now this got added to the must have list straight away, the mere thought of Terminators battling the resistance through a post apocalyptic battle field was too good to miss. Now I will admit that I did “cock up” by not going to Salute 15 this year, why? Well this year Warlord/River Horse Games showed off the Terminator: Genisys Miniatures Game and gave away Free sprues of Terminator endo-skeletons, as well as having some exclusive resin models for sale! I could have kicked myself. But the year before I spent more money getting their and getting in, than what I spent on buying models.

The thing that I like about the Terminator game is the rules are so quick and simple to learn. That is properly why I have been playing it on and off.

I was also lucky enough to pick up a second “starter” set from eBay for a good price that Included Guardian (Pops), Sarah and John Conner, T-1000, Kyle Reese, Special Endo-skeletons and Heavy Weapons Endo-skeletons.

I have also picked up the spider tank, resin resistance fighters as well as the deluxe play mat and Guardian (Pops) on motorbike!

Now where is the rest of my Mars Attacks scenery?……………………………..

Leave a Reply

