Out With The Old, In With The New……………

Posted: July 24, 2015 in Aliens, Incursion, Shadows Of Brimstone

Its been a while since I posted, but I have not been idle.

I have manged to get in a few games of AvP, Incursion and for the first time Shadows Of Brimstone.

AvP: As I said before is a very different beast to GW’s Space Hulk. Do not get me wrong I like it but it feels like its lacking something, but I am not sure what yet.

Incursion: It was good to get to play some of the missions that needed 2 boards from the SNAFU supplement. As when it was first released I only had 1 board, but with the Kick starter I got both an extra board as well as a paper “poster” map.

Shadows Of Brimstone: Many years ago Warhammer Quest was my “go to” dungeon crawl game, but over the years the models have been lost. I saw SoB as my WHQ replacement as the two games seemed to be fairly similar to each other, however SoB is a lot more card heavy. In many ways the card decks could have been “toned” down into fewer decks, and the monsters in the starter sets could have been a bit more “generic” but apart from that I enjoyed it.

However the most shocking thing that has happened was the death of the Warhammer fantasy world, we all knew it was coming with the end of times books. And we knew a new edition of WHFB was coming but Age of Sigmar just wiped out 30 odd years of “fluff” in one fowl swoop. But in all fairness something had to happen  as WHFB has been slowly dying over the past 5 years. I have not touched WHFB in over 10 years and most of my models have ended up on ebay. I only have my High, Dark and Wood Elves left, and out of the 3 it may only be the Wood Elves that I end up keeping. Its a shame that all that back story and history has been wiped away, but it seems that GW want to re-brand the races with their own copyrighted names……………………………………………..

Leave a Reply

