They’re Coming Outta The Walls. They’re Coming Outta The Goddamn Walls………………………….

Posted: July 10, 2015 in Aliens

So I spent the other day cleaning and preparing the AvP models for painting, and as some people have had their models for sometime their are a few painting guides out their on the net. The one I used is from the AvP Facebook group unfortunately I wrote down the paints used but not the posters name (if its yours let me know).

Now over the years their has been some speculation as to what colour the Aliens skin is, as all of the films have dark environments it is hard to tell what colour their skin is. The one thing I wanted to avoid was black skin, as I hate highlighting black!

So I went with the following colours for the Infant models, Black undercoat, dry brushed with Leadbelcher, washed with Nuln Oil, then dry brushed with Zandri Dust and then a final wash of Agrax Earthshade.

For the stalkers I used the same colours but replaced the Leadbelcher and Nuln Oil with Balthasar Gold and Agrax Earthshade.

The smooth part of the head was painted with Army painter Matt black (which dry’s with a soft sheen to it?) After they have been varnished I will go over the head with some gloss varnish to give it the shine it needs.

DSCN0713 DSCN0712

DSCN0715 DSCN0718

DSCN0720 DSCN0719

DSCN0721 DSCN0722

DSCN0724

I think they have come out well, but in the pictures the colour difference does not show up as well as it does in day light (the infants are darker than the stalkers).

Now Marines or Predators who shall I do next?

Leave a Reply

