Imperial Knight………………………………………

Posted: April 14, 2015 in Adeptus Mechanicus, Warhammer 40000

When the Imperial knight model was released last year it mark a move back to the old days of 40k, to the days of Adeptus Titanicus. Imperial Knights had not been seen in the 40k universe since the 2nd edition Epic game Titan Legions (they have been mentioned but no new models were released).

When the model was released I purchased one and a copy of the codex, and quickly began building the model. With construction complete I under-coated it with with Plate Mail spray from The Army Painter, however the PM spray was to “bright” and so I went back to the drawing board. I tried various techniques (washes, pigments, etc) but had no luck, I could visualize what I wanted but could not get the effect!

Roll on the other week when I got the last of my stuff from storage where I found 7 old GW spray cans in the form of Space Wolf Grey, Dark Angels Green, Bad Moon Yellow, and Boltgun Metal. Luckily despite their age only one can was no good.

DSCN0580As you can see on the “naked” knight the legs are a darker shade to the torso and arms. The torso is painted with AP Plate Mail, and the legs are painted with GW Boltgun metal (replaced under the current range with Leadbealcher). So with the can of Boltgun metal I repainted the torso and arms.

Now originally I was going to go with a yellow colour scheme and make him a “Free Blade” (the last of the Knights house) but in the end figured it would make it look to much like Bumblebee from the Transformers, again it was back to the drawing board. looking through the Knights codex I settled on one of the Adeptus Mechanicus knights in the colour section House Raven. I did toy with the idea of making my own household with a red and cream colour but after testing it out I decided to go with House Raven.

DSCN0582DSCN0585 DSCN0584

DSCN0583All the Armour plates were painted with AP Dragon Red spray (which is slightly darker than Pure red) the black areas were masked off and sprayed with GW Chaos Black, and the armour trim was painted with Leadbealcher (which comes up slightly lighter than Boltgun metal). Their are a few bits like the feet, gun shield, stubber mount, that needed to be red but the bottle of AP dragon red does not cover dark colours very well (i gave up after 3 coats) so in the end I used GW Mephiston Red with a quick coat of the AP red over the top it has come out slightly darker but its not that noticeable.

I still have a few bits left to do, like the barrel of the battle cannon, the reaper chainsword, add the transfers, and do the weathering.

But I am pleased with how it has gone so far, however he really needs some troops of his own………..

01010011 01101011 01101001 01110100 01100001 01110010 01101001 01101001

Leave a Reply

