Tablescapes Review Part 2 Forgotten City/Ruined Temple………………………….

Posted: March 10, 2015 in Blood angels, Chaos, Lord Of The Rings, terrain, The Hobbit

So part 2 of my review of the Tablescape tiles is the Forgotten city/ Ruined Temple (during the Kickstarter this theme was going to be Ruined Temple, but it was changed at a later date).

Now the Forgotten city tiles are one of the sets that I did NOT pledge for in the kickstarter, somewhere along the lines wires were crossed and not only did Backerkit get it wrong Mantic (who are fulfilling the shipments) picked the wrong set! However I resolved the issue with Secret weapons Mr Justin, and decided to keep the tiles (rather than go through the hassle of sending them back)

First things first the Forgotten City tiles are thinner (6mm) than the Urban tiles (12mm), not much of a problem it just means that the two cannot be mixed very easy. Their are also 16 unique designs, meaning each tile in my 16 tile set is different.

So first up we have 5 “foundation” (plain) tiles, and as I said above each one is different. Each one is covered in 25mm (1 Inch) flagstones, some of which are raised higher than others. Their is also the odd piece of broken stone here and their as well as piles of dust and debris.

DSCN0485 DSCN0483 DSCN0482 DSCN0481 DSCN0480

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next we have 4 tiles with low level debris (broken columns and large chunks of masonry) and again each one is covered with broken/raised flagstones and small piles of rubble/dust.

DSCN0494 DSCN0488 DSCN0487 DSCN0486

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next we have 1 tile with 4 broken tombs and a pile of rubble (top picture). And 2 tiles with skull pits (bottom pictures). Now one of the things that bugged me about GW’s Realm Of Battle tiles were the skulls, on the two sets that I own they have been filled in. However on these tiles they fit in well coupled with the ruined tombs.

DSCN0489 DSCN0493 DSCN0490

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next we have 2 “raised” tiles, the first one (left picture) is a mound of broken masonry and columns. The second one (right picture) is a raised plinth, it is about 25mm thick at the centre. And would make a great place to put a alter or ruined statue!

DSCN0492 DSCN0495

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The last two tiles with a low curved wall/steps/seating area, with the same details as the rest of the tiles.

DSCN0497 DSCN0496

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took the opportunity to set up the tiles on my dinning room table (5ft x 3ft) the same as I did for the Urban tiles how ever the main stumbling block was terrain (90% of my terrain is Urban!) I did however find 2 sets of the ruins of osgiliath for the Lord Of The Rings game. I also got my Blood Angels and Chaos Daemons out for some more photos.

 

 

DSCN0498DSCN0502 DSCN0501

DSCN0500

DSCN0503

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see the details are fantastic on the tiles. Considering I had no intentions of purchasing this set, I am glad that both Backerkit and Mantic cocked up my order! Again these tile could be used for anything from Fantasy battles, through to modern day soldiers fighting across a ruined temple, all the way up to the far flung future on some distant planet. My main use for this set will be for Lord Of The Rings/The Hobbit (Moria from LOTR and Ravenhill in The Hobbit)

Next time I will look at the last tile set that I have Rolling fields……………………………………………………

 

Leave a Reply

