Dear God! A cylinder’s landed on the house, and we are underneath it, in the pit!……………

Posted: July 2, 2014 in All Quiet On The Martian Front

I have been beavering away, making terrain for AQOTMF. At the moment I have made 7 bases of trees, a farm house and a barn, as well as working on my realm of battle boards. The other day I added some details to the farm house and barn, both have had doors and windows as well as “timber” trims around the edges. I did at one stage start scribing the planks into the wall of the barn but after doing the front I decided to try something different. Using a small wire brush and following the grain it gives the impression of individual planks.

IMG_2086 IMG_2088

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I put these pictures up on face book and got some good feedback, then someone suggested a ruined version of the barn would look good.

“Hmmmm a ruined barn you say, lets have a think about it”

After some soul searching (OK my I pod) I put on Jeff Wayne`s war of the worlds album, and then it hit me. A cylinder sticking out the side of a barn! I hunted hi and low looking for a tube of the right diameter to use as the base of the model, but had no luck.

I would need to make it from scratch!

Using some card  I made a rough mock up and then went on to cut up the blue foam and foam card for the proper model.

IMG_2097

 

Above is the basic structure made from 10mm blue foam.
IMG_2096The next picture has had the “prototype” outer layer added, this has been replaced with 3mm blue foam wrapped round the out side. Which is currently clamped up and drying.

I have marked out the base ready to be cut out………………

 

 

Leave a Reply

