Children Of The Four Armed God…………………

Posted: May 30, 2014 in Genestealer Cult
Tags:

In my last post “2014 purge” I said that I had come across the old Genestealer Hybrids, Magos, and Patriarch models and that I wanted to start a small cult army. Well yesterday I made a start, now as much as I like the old models their is no way that I will be able to pick up enough hybrids with out braking the bank!

So I have gone down the route of converting the models a search of the “net” brings me various imperial guard with genestealer arms glued on, and the odd one with a genestealer head in place of a human head. To me these look stupid the “stealer” claw is way to big for a guardsman model (even a jungle fighter).

Then their are Orks with “stealer” arms and heads which may work for the odd Hybrid here and their but not a whole squad.

Then their are Dark Vengeance Chaos Cultists with “stealer” claws, these do not look to bad but I would rather use them for Brood brother Initiates.

Finally I Come across WHFB crypt ghouls,  now the thing I liked about these was they used no “stealer” parts just the ghouls boxed set some guns and some green stuff. Luckily for me I have a box of crypt ghouls and some green stuff, so I put together 9 Hybrids (3 with Autoguns and 6 with auto pistols)

Next on the list was the Patriarch (which still lives on in 40k as a Tyranid Broodlord) Now their are not many conversions out their that don’t use the old Patriarch model, the few that do use a different body use a tyranid warrior or Hive Tyrant as the base their are a few that use the Broodlord. Now I like the Broodlord  idea but hate the model, the pose looks like the model is screaming “No!!!!!!!!!”. I had a hunt round and found the one for my tyranids, By making two cuts to one leg, and repositioning the other leg and and arms i could make it look like it was crawling over rubble. Hopefully I will be able to make a “seated” version for the cult limo.

Next up are the Brood Brothers. I was going to use plastic jungle fighters, but after sorting out some more bits for eBay I came across the renegade militia models from Forge World. Now I see the Brood Brothers comrades as being more along the lines of the PDF (Planetary Defence Force) rather than the Imperial Guard. So to make them different to Imperial Guard I have gone with Autoguns, Auto pistols and Heavy stubbers.

Vehicle wise a limo is a must, I found a conversion based on a 1/24th scale 56 Chevy Bel Air which I will use. I have a few Le Man Russ tanks,a hell-hound, and a griffon mortar that have been hanging around for years…………..

Leave a Reply

