You Learn Something New Every Day (well sort of)……………

Posted: April 23, 2014 in Deadzone, terrain

I have been collecting and painting models for nearly 25 years and have learnt many different techniques, when I first started words like dry-brushing and washes were all alien to me. Now they are part and parcel of my painting no model leaves my painting table with out a crafty dry brush, even if it is only the base of the model.

Well after putting together a dead zone (DZ) building yesterday, I decided to take a look on the internet to see how people were painting their buildings. Some people have taken the route of “clean” looking buildings and some have gone for the “dirty” look. As the chances of these buildings being used in the 40k setting as well as DZ I needed to be in between the 2 settings (after all 40k is the grim dark future). I also see them as more semi industrial rather than city buildings, being more of a refinery or cargo complex (taken over by cultists) so I was looking for a dirty, greasy, grimy colours.

I then came across an article over on blogspot:

http://whiteswolves.blogspot.co.uk/2013/12/deadzone-terrain-speed-painting-guide.html

That uses a technique called Salt Masking, now I had seen this before but had never used it its in a few books that I have and I think it was in White Dwarf once.

I needed a test piece, step forward the humble Necromunda Plastic Bulkhead.

The 1st picture shows the bulkhead (it was under-coated with Boltgun metal spray) it has been given a coat of hairspray and covered with normal table salt (29p for a big pot).

IMG_1915

 

The 2nd picture shows the bulkhead sprayed with Army Painter Desert spray (I did go bit heavy with the spray)

IMG_1916

The 3rd picture, Show the bulkhead after it has been cleaned with warm water and a tooth brush. Their are still some grains of salt trapped under the paint but if you look at metal that has been painted it can have rust “blisters” on the paint

IMG_1917

 

Over all I like the effect it has given, especially the chipped effect on the steps of the ladder.

The following 3 You Tube videos are also very good for using weathering powders and pigments.

Maybe its time to brake out the compressor and airbrush!

Leave a Reply

