Five Rounds, Rapid Fire…………….

Posted: September 4, 2013 in 7TV, Doctor Who
Tags:

With my Imperial Daleks finished (the paint is still drying as i type), It is time to move on to U.N.I.T. Now in the 70’s both the 3rd and 4th Doctors had dealings with  U.N.I.T, The 2nd Doctor also had dealings with them in the episodes The Web Of Fear (1968) and The Invasion (1968). The 7th Doctor also came across U.N.I.T. in Battlefield (1989).

Now this will be the 3rd time I have had ago at painting U.N.I.T. troopers. My 1st attempt was back in 1999 when i first got the models, The paint scheme was  very poor and matched the quality of the models.

Then a few years ago when i restarted the repaint of my collection, I did The brigadier,  Sgt Benton, and 9 troopers in a beige colour scheme. This was going to be the start of my U.N.I.T. force.

U.N.I.T troopers

U.N.I.T troopers Sgt Benton Brigadier lethbridge-stewart

Now the U.N.I.T uniform changed from beige to green over the years, And the beige paint scheme is a nod to the early years.

My new scheme is more an olive green, in fact it started life as a Flames of War: US armour spray can that i had laying around. So the other day i set about stripping and rebasing the models.

I have ended up with,

The Brigadier, Captain Yates, and Sgt Benton

4 Troopers with grenades.

2 Radio Transmitter operators.

14 Troopers with a mix of SLR’s and Sterling SMG’S

2 Mortar teams.

2 Bazooka teams.

2 Bren Gun teams.

and 1 U.N.I.T Land rover.

I still have about 20 more troopers that may well end up being painted to match up with the beige scheme but that will be for another day…………

Leave a Reply

