Filler, Paint, Sand And PVA………..

Posted: July 31, 2012 in Heavy Gear, terrain

Yesterday I spent filling in the skull pits and slabs on the two flat boards from the Realm Of Battle set. I also worked on the two hills that I got at the same time as the R.O.B.

First off I gave them a coat of PVA glue, followed by a coat of sand. Once dry I gave them a coat of PVA, Water, and Washing up liquid. This coat binds everything together and makes the sand as hard as stone.

The mix I use is PVA and water mixed together until it is slightly thicker than milk, and then add washing up liquid until the colour is slightly off white (it helps if the washing up liquid is coloured).

Last night I also took a walk down to the beach to get some more sand for the boards which has been drying over night. On the way back I went to my local DIY store to have a look at paint. I took a pot of the now OOP desert yellow from GW. After looking at loads and loads of colours some called sand or desert, I settled on Dulux Bracken Salts 1 code: 30yy27226 And bought a 250ml tester pot.

Now I’ve tried out the colour on the hills and it looks promising, when dry if it is the right colour then I will pick up 1 litre of Bracken Salts 1 and 250ml testers of  Bracken Salts 2,3, and 4.

Now lets see about working on the boards………………

 

Leave a Reply

