Tyranids And Terminators.

Posted: April 10, 2012 in space marine, Tyranids, Warhammer 40000
Tags:

Well some 21 years ago today I got hold of my first ever GW plastics boxed set Tyranids and Terminators.

At the time I was young and fresh into the hobby, and my path to damnation was not set in stone. Fast forward to the present day and today much to my surprise my partner gets me the new Hive Tyrant/Swarm Lord plastic kit for my birthday. How strange that I am working on the same models that I was 20 years ago!!!!!!!!

I’ve spent this morning putting the beast together as a winged Hive Tyrant, and with the plastic bits that are left over I will make a Swarm Lord with the now OOP metal Hive Tyrant kit. I have also come in to possession off  2 OOP metal Venomthropes and 2 Fine-cast Hive Guard from an auction from eBay.

Now I can see what all the fuss was over the Fine-cast models.

The 1st one is a perfect casting, but their were still a few flash lines. But over all I would give it 9.5 out of 10

The 2nd one on the over hand needs some work doing to it. It has quite a few air bubbles around the backs of the legs,and parts of the carapace need fixing up with green stuff.  This one I would give a 6 out of 10.

I am glad that I got these from eBay for £8.00 each rather than the £15.50 price tag from GW. Painting wise I have not got much further with my Tyranids as I have been busy for the last few weeks and will be for the next couple of weeks.

Comments
  1. nebekhud says:

    I have had similar issues with the finecast models. Some flash on the hive guards that wasn’t too big a deal, but I picked up a zoanthrope recently that I had to dig out the teeth on.

Leave a Reply

